News and Publications

New Sussex County Youth Philanthropy Board Selected

Back to Archive
Eighteen Sussex County high school seniors and juniors will experience the joys and challenges of being philanthropists this year through the Delaware Community Foundation’s Youth Philanthropy Board (YPB).

Like its counterparts in New Castle and Kent County, the Sussex County YPB includes students from public, private and parochial schools. The DCF gives the Sussex County students $10,000 to award to local charities. The students work together to choose a focus area, solicit and review grant applications, conduct site visits, and decide how to distribute the money to have the greatest impact.

Grant applications will be available at in November and due in January.

“The DCF sponsors the Youth Philanthropy Boards every year to engage Delaware’s future philanthropists and nonprofit leaders,” said Bill Allan, DCF Senior Vice President for Southern Delaware. “The students see the needs in their communities and work hard to find ways to prioritize and address those needs. It makes a tremendous impact on the students.”

2015-16 Sussex County YPB

Student   Grade School

Olivia Anderson                            Junior            Delmarva Christian High School
Grace Brokaw                               Senior           Cape Henlopen High School
Ricky Brokaw                               Senior           Cape Henlopen High School
Amy Green                                   Junior            Woodbridge High School
Zakary Keeler                               Senior           Sussex Central High School
Jacob Lee                                    Senior           Seaford High School
Mariayna Lovelace                        Junior            Indian River High School
Eben Marneweck                          Senior           Delmarva Christian High School
Chase Marvil                                 Senior           Woodbridge High School
Lauren McCoy                              Senior           Indian River High School
Nathanael Riddle                           Junior            Sussex Academy
Brittany Ritter                                Junior            Sussex Tech High School
Alex Rosenthal                             Senior           Delmar High School
Hailee Smith                                 Senior           Sussex Central High School
Sarah Spicer                                 Junior            Cape Henlopen High School
Kelly Velasquez-Perez                   Junior            Seaford High School
Timothy Ward                               Senior           Delmar High School
Emily Whaley                                Senior           Sussex Tech High School