News and Publications

New Kent & Sussex Youth Philanthropy Boards Selected

Back to Archive
Forty Kent and Sussex County high school seniors and juniors will experience the triumphs and challenges of being philanthropists this year through the Delaware Community Foundation’s Youth Philanthropy Board (YPB).

Like their counterpart in New Castle County, the Kent and Sussex County YPBs include students from public, private and parochial schools. The DCF gives the Kent and Sussex County student boards $10,000 each to award to local charities. The students work together to choose a focus area, solicit and review grant applications, conduct site visits and decide how to distribute the money to have the greatest impact.

Grant applications will be available at in late December and due in January.

“The DCF’s Youth Philanthropy Board is one of the most fun and effective programs we run in the community,” said Bill Allan, vice president of philanthropy for Southern Delaware. “The students learn to see the needs in their communities and work hard to find ways to prioritize and address those needs. It gives the students a unique experience they would not otherwise have at this young age.”

Kent County YPB

This year’s YPB participants are:

Kent County (with Congresswoman Lisa Blunt-Rochester)

Destinee Osei-Afriyie, Sr., Polytech

Dayuna Harmon, Sr., Polytech

Silvana Nasim, Sr. Caesar Rodney

Micaela Maxwell, Jr., Caesar Rodney

Meghana Lodhavia, Sr., Dover

Daniel Shockley, Sr. Milford

Sussex County YPB

Marina Spangler, Sr., Dover

Mia Davis, Jr., Smyrna

Lauren Iglio, Sr., Smyrna

Conner Cooper, Jr., Caesar Rodney

Bethany Kline, Jr., Calvary Christian

Zach Mazuchowski, Sr., St. Thomas More

Kaitlyn Crowe, Jr., Dover

Jessica Simpson, Sr., St. Thomas More

Kristin Keller, Sr., Calvary Christian

Garrett Geidel, Sr. Caesar Rodney

Leslie Webb, Sr., Lake Forest

Not Pictured:
Raven Gaeta, Jr. First State Military Academy

Emilee Mills, Jr., Milford


Sussex County

Back Row:

Taylor Dade, Jr., Cape Henlopen

Colin Anderson, Sr., Delmarva Christian Academy

Lyncie Etienne,Sr., Laurel

Hayley Wilson, Sr., Sussex Tech

Cailey Murphy, Sr., Sussex Academy

Molly Martiner, Jr. Sussex Academy

Shannon O’Hara, Jr., Sussex Tech

Jackie Cannon, Sr., Cape Henlopen

Alex Reyes, Jr., Sussex Academy

Cade Keeler, Sr. Sussex Central

Kevin Greenlee, Sr., Sussex Central

Aryan Patel, Sr., Delmar

Front Row:

Brendyn Vanderslice, Sr., Laurel

Maddy Lester, Sr., Greenwood Mennonite

Gabby Hudson, Sr., Indian River

Kaylee Hall, Jr., Indian River

Kat Marini, Jr. Worcester Prep

Gabby Morelli, Sr., Delmar

Maddie Betts, Jr., Cape Henlopen

Not shown:

Caden Dickerson, Sr., Seaford

Marley Fishburn, Jr. Seaford