News and Publications

New Kent County Youth Philanthropy Board Selected

Back to Archive
Sixteen Kent County high school seniors and juniors will experience the joys and challenges of being philanthropists this year through the Delaware Community Foundation’s Youth Philanthropy Board (YPB).

Like its counterparts in New Castle and Sussex County, the Kent County YPB includes students from public, private and parochial schools. The DCF gives the Kent County students $10,000 to award to local charities. The students work together to choose a focus area, solicit and review grant applications, conduct site visits, and decide how to distribute the money to have the greatest impact.

Grant applications will be available at in November and due in December.

“The DCF’s Youth Philanthropy Board is one of the most fun and effective programs we run in the community,” said Rebecca Elzey, vice president of development for Central Delaware. “The students learn to see the needs in their communities and work hard to find ways to prioritize and address those needs. It gives the students a unique experience they would not otherwise have at this young age.”

2016-17 Kent County YPB (as pictured left to right)

Student Grade School
Charlie Stephan Senior Polytech High School
Eryne Jenkins Junior Caesar Rodney High School
Nick Olsen Junior St. Thomas More Academy
Andy Chen Junior Caesar Rodney High School
Christie Little Senior Lake Forest High School
DyShere Logan Senior Caesar Rodney High School
Tara Bond Junior Polytech High School
Justin Nash Senior Smyrna High School
Meghan Yerkes Senior Smyrna High School
Margaret Amory Senior Milford High School
Ali Guckes Junior Dover High School
Cassidy Bennetti Senior Dover High School
Savannah Poorman Junior Smyrna High School
Not pictured:
Darby Brennan Junior Milford High School
Elle Harden Junior Lake Forest High School
Therese Sadusky Senior St. Thomas More Academy