News and Publications

New Castle County Youth Philanthropy Board Selected

Back to Archive
High school students will award $15,000 in grants to New Castle County nonprofits

Thirty-two New Castle County high school students will experience the joys and challenges of being philanthropists this year through the Delaware Community Foundation’s Youth Philanthropy Board (YPB).

Like its counterparts in Kent and Sussex Counties, the New Castle County YPB includes students from public, private and parochial schools. The DCF gives the New Castle County students $15,000 to award to local charities. The students work together to choose a focus area, solicit and review grant applications, conduct site visits, and decide how to distribute the money to have the greatest impact.

Grant applications will be available in December and due in January.

“The Youth Philanthropy Board program does more than give kids the chance to make a difference,” DCF President & CEO Stuart Comstock-Gay said. “It gets them out into the community to experience firsthand the impact their work has on people’s lives.”

2018-19 New Castle County YPB

In photo:

Siawaa Antwi, Freire Wilmington Charter School
Madison Berkey, Red Lion Christian Academy
Frederick Bolarinwa, Concord High School
Mykajah Brown, Newark High School
Luke Campbell, Wilmington Christian School
Ashley Chompre, Wilmington Friends School
Dennis Chu, Charter School of Wilmington
Riley Cuddy, Tower Hill School
Caelin Foley, Delcastle High School
Jordan Foy, St. Elizabeth High School
Tamon Hamlett, MOT Charter School
Jalia Lawrence, Mt. Pleasant High School
Diamond McClellan, Christiana High School
Elonna Mowbray, Design Thinking Academy
Chloe Nield, Brandywine High School
Tatiana Romero, William Penn High School
Jamie Rowley, St. Andrew’s School
Hunter Rzaca, Archmere Academy
Cameron Smith, Sanford School
Colin Smith, Delaware Military Academy
Jessica Smith, Cab Calloway School of the Arts
Nashawn Smith, Howard High School of Technology
Sarah Smith, Caravel Academy
KeAnna Williams, St. Georges Vo-Tech High School
Kimmi Woods, Tatnall School

Not pictured:

Kamryn Dorsett, Odyssey Charter School
Peter Kardash, Salesianum School
Jane Lyons, Ursuline Academy
Thomas McGraw, Tall Oaks Classical School
Lance Ralsten, St. Mark’s High School
Anya Verucci, Newark Charter High School
Madison Wells-James, Appoquinimink High School