News and Publications

DCF Awards 157 Scholarships Totaling $408,388 for 2022-2023 School Year 

Back to Archive


The Delaware Community Foundation has awarded $408,388 in scholarships for the 2022-2023 school year, helping 142 students pursue secondary education.  

Each year, the DCF awards scholarships to students from funds established by generous people who care about education and understand that it can be costly. This year, 157 scholarships were awarded to 142 students. 

There is no cap on the number of scholarships or the amount students may receive. Funding from many of the scholarships may be applied to the costs of textbooks and fees, in addition to tuition. Some are one-time awards, and others are renewable. 

“Pursuing higher education benefits not only a young person, but also their entire community,” DCF President and CEO Stuart Comstock-Gay said. “We are grateful that we have a number of fundholders and philanthropists who understand the burden of the cost of higher education and are willing to help.” 

This year’s awardees are listed below. For information about how donors can create scholarship funds at the DCF, contact Kelly Sheridan at [email protected].  


Student School Scholarship(s) 
Ebenezer Antwi Smyrna Philip L. Bartlett Scholarship 
Mark Arranguez Caesar Rodney Dr. Jill Biden – Biden Breast Health Initiative Scholarship 
Nora Charles Smyrna FCA Foundation Scholarship, John A. & Marion B. Smitheman Scholarship 
Elijah Cobb Delaware State University Cpl. Stephen Ballard Memorial Scholarship 
Brilynn Cotner Caesar Rodney FCA Foundation Scholarship, Kelly Family Scholarship 
Nicholas Del Rossi Milford James L. Davis Scholarship 
Gabriella Deninno   Hofstra University   MARTA Scholarship 
Nicholas Deninno Farmingdale State College MARTA Scholarship 
Ryleigh Harrison Milford Janosik Family Scholarship, Lee Hirsch Scholarship 
Caitlin Hernandez Caesar Rodney John J. & Rita D. Ryan Scholarship 
Emma Higgins Caesar Rodney Fred Fifer III Memorial Scholarship 
Tyler Hollowell Caesar Rodney Citibank NAF Scholarship 
Lauren Hudson Milford Philip L. Bartlett Scholarship 
Josephine Ledford Lake Forest Tony Silicato Scholarship 
Sundene Lodge Milford Milford High School Alumni Scholarship 
Cailtlin Maloney Milford Garbutt Family Scholarship, Lee Hirsch Scholarship 
Olivia Muir Milford Citibank NAF Scholarship, Chester Dickerson, Sr. Memorial Scholarship, James H. Postles Scholarship 
Alexus Nelson Early College High School J.D. O’Connor Scholarship 
Grayson Parsell Lake Forest John A. & Marion B. Smitheman Scholarship 
Megan Popp Polytech Janosik Family Scholarship 
Carlin Reyen Cornell University MARTA Scholarship 
Olivia Saborio Caesar Rodney John J. & Rita D. Ryan Scholarship 
Shelby Serrano Caesar Rodney Philip L. Bartlett Scholarship 


Student   School Scholarship 
Alexus Abuya Newark Charter Margaret A. Stafford Nursing Scholarship 
La’Brian Archy Charter School of Wilmington Frank Vari Memorial Scholarship 
Ashley Bao Cab Calloway William J. & H. Virginia Miller Scholarship, Committee of 100 Scholarship 
Aaron Berry University of Delaware FCA Foundation Scholarship 
Mya Brown Milford Keisha M. Michael Memorial Scholarship 
Sewell Cooper Delaware Military Academy Margaret L. Richey Scholarship 
Alea Eldemire University of Delaware Carl Hill Memorial Scholarship, Philip L. Bartlett Scholarship 
Meredith Frazier Padua Academy Caesar Rodney Rotary Scholarship 
Maura Grier Goldey-Beacom College Achievement Scholarship for Students with Chronic Illness 
Ayanna Harris Howard High School Caesar Rodney Rotary Scholarship 
Jaylen Harrison Appoquinimink Ryan R. Wagner Scholarship 
Jacqueline King Sidney Kimmel School of Medicine at Thomas Jefferson University   Eleanor & Henry H. Stroud, M.D. Memorial Scholarship 
Cullen Kisner Sidney Kimmel School of Medicine at Thomas Jefferson University Mark B. Holzman Scholarship 
Yessenia Lagunas University of Delaware Philip L. Bartlett Scholarship 
Yutong Li Sidney Kimmel School of Medicine at Thomas Jefferson University   Mark B. Holzman Scholarship 
Emily Lingo Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine Mark B. Holzman Scholarship 
Lydia Liu John Dickinson Thomas & Mary Jo Russo Scholarship 
Taral Mable-Pearson Howard Margaret A. Stafford Nursing Scholarship 
Rishima Mall Charter School of Wilmington Dr. Jill Biden Scholarship, Margaret L. Richey Scholarship 
Ian McKeown Concord FCA Foundation Scholarship 
Samantha McMahon Appoquinimink Margaret L. Richey Scholarship 
Trung Nguyen MOT Charter Philip L. Bartlett Scholarship 
Oluwaseun Ogundimu   MOT Charter Beekhuis Scholarship 
Richard Osman Concord Beekhuis Scholarship, Ken Cicerale Memorial Music Scholarship, John & Louise Maslin Scholarship 
Madison Perry William Penn Beekhuis Scholarship 
Yusuf Salahudin William Penn FCA Foundation Scholarship 
Gabriella Sherman Massapequa HS Philip L. Bartlett Scholarship 
Rimmon Shoukat   University of Delaware Taylor Family Scholarship 
Emily Staib   Concord    FCA Foundation Scholarship   
James Stangl    University of Delaware   Carl Hill Memorial Scholarship   
Samantha Sullivan   University of Delaware   Philip L. Bartlett Scholarship   
Kylie Watkins   Cab Calloway   Caesar Rodney Rotary Scholarship   
Katie Wenrich   St. Mark’s   Margaret L. Richey Scholarship   
Daniel Willis Middletown Ryan R. Wagner Scholarship 
Student School Scholarship 
Hannah Bird Indian River Janosik Family Scholarship 
Peyton Campbell Sussex Academy J.D. O’Connor Scholarship, Sussex Foundation Scholarship 
Taylor Cannon Laurel J.D. O’Connor Scholarship 
Joanna Cap-Ortiz   Seaford J.D. O’Connor Scholarship 
Mason Cathell   Sussex Tech   Janosik Family Scholarship, J.D. O’Connor Scholarship 
Mikayla Dayton Sussex Academy Margaret M. Moore Scholarship, Sussex Foundation Scholarship, V. George & Jeannette Carey Scholarship 
Leonora Demerutis Cape Henlopen J.D. O’Connor Scholarship 
Logan Dendorfer Delmar FCA Foundation Scholarship, J.D. O’Connor Scholarship 
Samantha Derickson Sussex Tech Janosik Family Scholarship 
Peyton Givans Laurel J.D. O’Connor Scholarship 
Callie Goff Laurel J.D. O’Connor Scholarship 
Cierra Holmes Seaford J.D. O’Connor Scholarship, Margaret A. Stafford Nursing Scholarship 
Tia Jarvis Cape Henlopen Cape Henlopen Taxpayers for Fair Elections Scholarship, Cloutier-Valenti Legacy Scholarship, Geneva Pepper Morris Scholarship 
Mya Jones Sussex Central Chris Cordrey Student Athlete Scholarship, John Botto Memorial Scholarship, Lucille Tiro Memorial Scholarship, Margaret A. Stafford Nursing Scholarship 
Samuel Jones Sussex Tech J.D. O’Connor Scholarship 
Prabh Kaur Sussex Academy Dr. Jill Biden Scholarship, Margaret L. Richey Scholarship, Sussex Foundation Scholarship 
Seth Reynolds Cape Henlopen John M. Roca Memorial Scholarship 
Brayden Rochester Cape Henlopen J.D. O’Connor Scholarship, Thurman G. Adams and Hilda McCabe Adams Family Scholarship 
Landon Ruark Sussex Tech Janosik Family Scholarship 
Jada Sales-Morales Sussex Tech Don and Anne Ward Scholarship 
Caylee Schmidt Indian River Margaret M. Moore Scholarship 
Madison Short Sussex Tech Janosik Family Scholarship 
Justin Steele Delaware Tech Community College FCA Foundation Scholarship 
Alissa Swann Sussex Academy Sussex Foundation Scholarship 
Anjolie Suberro Woodbridge Margaret L. Richey Scholarship 
Kirsten Taylor University of Delaware/Beebe Nursing Elisabeth C. Tassone Oncology Scholarship 
Ashlynn Toppin Laurel Citibank NAF Scholarship 
Mackenzie Vitolo Cape Henlopen George H. Henry Award, Margaret M. Moore Scholarship 
Kaitlyn Vogel Sussex Tech Don and Anne Ward Scholarship 

Detailed information on scholarships and the application process can be found at