News and Publications

YPB Grants Available to NCC Nonprofits

Back to Archive
New Castle County nonprofit organizations are invited to apply for grants from the Delaware Community Foundation (DCF) Youth Philanthropy Board (YPB). The board will award $15,000 in grants to New Castle County schools and qualified 501(c)(3) nonprofit organizations, in accordance with its designated area of focus. Requests for up to $2,500 will be accepted.

This year, the Youth Philanthropy Board will consider funding requests for the following:

  • Programs that assist veterans transition back to civilian life; or
  • Programs that help at-risk students in grades 9-12 prepare for life for post-high school. Special consideration will be given to programs with a mentoring component.

Grant requests must be submitted on a 2016 YPB Grant Application Form for the appropriate county. Forms are available at and can be submitted directly via email. Forms also may be printed and mailed. Completed applications must be received by 4 p.m. on December 15, 2015. Applications received after this time will not be considered. Grant recipients will be announced in May 2016.

The Delaware Community Foundation sponsors a YPB in each Delaware county to encourage youths to become more involved in philanthropy. Each board, composed of high school students, is allotted a pool of money to give as charitable grants. The students learn about philanthropy and effective grantmaking, study youth issues in their neighborhoods and schools, solicit grant proposals, and award grants to those they determine to be most deserving.

Retired Delaware educator Phyllis Wynn established the Youth Philanthropy Fund in 1999 because she wanted to encourage youth to become more involved in philanthropic ventures. Students who serve on the YPB are nominated by their principal or guidance counselor.

“Every year, we are honored to have outstanding high school students join the YPB to learn about and enjoy charitable giving,” DCF President and CEO Fred Sears said. “By enabling these students to learn about and experience giving now, we’re preparing the next generation to keep philanthropy strong in Delaware.”

2015-2016 New Castle County Youth Philanthropy Board:
Jake Barks                                 junior                             St. Elizabeth High School

Marguerite Beane                      senior                            Padua Academy

Scott Bernetich                          sophomore                    Charter School of Wilmington

Jacob Campbell                         junior                             William Penn High School

Alina Caulfield                            senior                            Sanford School

Gabriella daPonte                      senior                            Red Lion Christian Academy

Samantha Drummond                senior                            Wilmington Christian School

Patrick Lyons                             senior                            Salesianum School

Megan McCormick                     junior                             Newark Charter School

Collin Megee                              senior                            Cab Calloway School of the Arts

Lange Scanlan                           senior                            Tower Hill School

Matthew Thompson                   senior                            Caravel Academy

Shefali Waghray                        senior                             Mount Pleasant High School

Richiah Fayson                          junior                             Newark High School

Kaitlin Friswell                            senior                            Howard High School of Technology

Cameron Hines                          senior                            St. Andrew’s School

Katherine Hosey                        senior                            Ursuline Academy

Madeleine Ireland                      senior                            Wilmington Friends School

Nicole Kennedy                         sophomore                    Conrad Schools of Science

Jason Kramer                            senior                            Tatnall School

David Walczak                          senior                            Tall Oaks Classical School

Connor Ward                            senior                             St. George’s Tech

Joseph White                            junior                              St. Mark’s High School

Laura Williams                          senior                             Archmere Academy

Jasmine Winslow                      senior                             Delaware Military Academy

Tim Weihang Zhang                 senior                             A.I. du Pont High School