News and Publications

New Youth Philanthropy Boards Selected in Each County

Back to Archive

Forty-six high school seniors, juniors and sophomores will experience the triumphs and challenges of being philanthropists this year through the Delaware Community Foundation’s Youth Philanthropy Board (YPB).

The YPBs include students from public, private and parochial schools. The DCF gives the New Castle County board $15,000 and the Kent and Sussex County student boards $10,000 each to award to local charities. The students work together to choose a focus area, solicit and review grant applications, conduct site visits and decide how to distribute the money to have the greatest impact.

Grant applications will be available at in early December and will be due in January.

“The Youth Philanthropy Board program does more than give kids the chance to make a difference,” DCF President & CEO Stuart Comstock-Gay said. “It gets them out into the community to experience firsthand the impact their work has on people’s lives.”

This year’s participants are:

Kent County

  • Tyasia Cannon, senior, Dover High School
  • Noah Dixon, senior, Lake Forest High School
  • Brenna Geidel, junior, Caesar Rodney High School
  • Lily Griffiths, senior, Smyrna High School
  • Samra Iqbal, junior, Caesar Rodney High School
  • Malini Lodhavia, senior, Dover High School
  • Hanifah Ouro-Sama, senior, Dover High School
  • Marlie McMillan, senior, Milford High School
  • Melissa Mesidor, junior, Milford High School
  • Amman Rather, senior, Caesar Rodney High School
  • Jennifer Vil, senior, Polytech High School

New Castle County 

  • Mae Thomas, senior, St. Andrews School
  • Joshua Green, junior, Tatnall School
  • Gabriella Adams, sophomore, Ursuline Academy
  • Samantha Harrington, sophomore, St. Georges Technical High School
  • Evan Quigley, junior, Salesianum School
  • Jamie Marshall, sophomore, Appoquinimink High School
  • Claire Bolarinwa, senior, Archmere Academy
  • Fiona Fawcett, senior, Charter School of Wilmington
  • Maya Levine, senior, Cab Calloway School of the Arts
  • Naiya Patel, junior, Charter School of Wilmington
  • Paige Zhang, senior, Tower Hill School
  • Makale Harvey, junior, Howard High School
  • Layahna Williams, senior, Freire School
  • Fatama Afrin, sophomore, Mt. Pleasant High School
  • Naomi Innocent, sophomore, Las Aspiras Americas
  • Dua Hussain, senior, Conrad Schools of Science
  • Avery Zwickert, junior, St. Marks

Sussex County 

  • Jacob Adkins, senior, Delmar High School
  • Mirta Angel-Gabriel, junior, Laurel High School
  • Abby Betts, junior, Cape Henlopen High School
  • Peyton Campbell, senior, Sussex Academy
  • Vicky Chan, junior, Indian River High School
  • Daykhi Conquest-Carey, junior, Sussex Central High School
  • Brooke Emeigh, senior, Worcester Preparatory School
  • Michael Fagundes-Rocha, junior, Sussex Central High School
  • Joscelyn Gamarra-Gutierrez, senior, Seaford High School
  • Prabh Kaur, senior, Sussex Academy
  • Quinlyn Long, senior, Cape Henlopen High School
  • Hussain Mahdi, junior, Cape Henlopen High School
  • McKenna Miller, junior, Indian River High School
  • Stella Pogwist, junior, Sussex Tech High School
  • Ashlyn Toppin, senior, Laurel High School
  • Doralynn Ventura-Lopez, junior, Sussex Academy
  • Katie Whaley, junior, Sussex Tech High School
  • Kathy Zhang, junior, Worcester Preparatory School