News and Publications

Grants Available from DCF’s New Castle County Youth Philanthropy Board

Back to Archive
$15,000 available for New Castle County nonprofits

New Castle County nonprofit organizations are invited to apply for grants from the Delaware Community Foundation (DCF) Youth Philanthropy Board (YPB).

The YPB will consider applications for programs that advance equity and opportunity for at-risk youth with special consideration given to programs providing financial literacy, life skill training with a trauma informed approach, or addressing the challenges of recidivism.

Grant requests must be submitted at by 5 p.m. on Dec. 20. Applicants will be notified in April 2019.

The DCF sponsors the YPBs to encourage younger generations to become more involved in philanthropy. Each board, composed of high school students from public, private and parochial schools, is allotted a pool of money to give as charitable grants. The students learn about philanthropy and effective grant-making, study youth issues in their neighborhoods and schools, solicit grant proposals, and award grants to those they determine to be most deserving.

Retired Delaware educator Phyllis Wynn established the Youth Philanthropy Fund in 1999 because she wanted to encourage youth to become more involved in philanthropic ventures. Students who serve on the YPB are nominated by their principal or guidance counselor.

“The Youth Philanthropy Board program gives students an opportunity to enjoy the pleasure and the challenges of charitable giving, including determining how to make the greatest impact on quality of life with the limited resources available,” said DCF President and CEO Stuart Comstock-Gay. “It’s an important program because we are cultivating the philanthropists of tomorrow.”

Pictured above:

Front Row (L – R):
Jalia Lawrence, Senior, Mt. Pleasant High School
Eric Tlaseca-Morales, Junior, St. Georges Technical High School
Jessica Smith, Senior, Cab Calloway School of the Arts
Riley Cuddy, Senior, Tower Hill School
Caelin Foley, Junior, Delcastle Technical High School
Amber Cooke, Junior, Appoquinimink High School

Back Row (L-R):
Sam Margolies, Senior, A.I. Dupont High School
Claire Bolarinwa, Sophomore, Archmere Academy
Liam Furlong, Junior, Salesianum High School
Nashawn Smith, Senior, Howard High School
Chloe Nield, Junior, Brandywine High School
Cameron Smith, Junior, Sanford School
Frederick Bolarinwa, Junior, Concord High School
Fiona Fawcett, Sophomore, Concord High School

Not Pictured:
Dennis Chu, Senior, Charter School of Wilmington
Maria Kennedy, Junior, Ursuline Academy
Karen Paredes, Senior, St. Andrews School
Kimmi Woods, Senior, Tatnall School